You’re a…BeachBody Coach?

March 2014 Update: I am currently taking a break from coaching and focusing on me and my goals. I may or may not get back into BeachBody coaching, I will be posting more about this in the future. While I loved my team and being a coach, I was straying away from my goals. I love health and fitness and will continue helping others. I was beginning to feel that fitness was a job and not a hobby anymore. Thank you for everyone who has supported my decision.

I can’t tell you how many times people ask me “what is a BeachBody coach?” and I get so excited and ramble on about what it means to be a coach. This past week 2 new girls came to me saying they were interested in coaching, but they had no idea what a coach was. It hit me, I need to write about this. I need to explain in my point of view what I do. This is also a glimpse into my journey of how, why, and when I started. So let’s begin!

TBB_blue

BeachBody is famously known for their fitness programs like P90X, Insanity, TurboFire, and Power 90. You see these commercials all the time on tv and see the success stories. But of course, a lot of people just turn the channel because who really orders stuff from tv anymore? At least, that’s how I think. But I do always research things I see on tv that interest me, especially fitness.

Fitness always caught my eye because the majority of my life, I struggled with weight. I never liked my body because kids would always make fun of me for being a curvy girl and not the stick straight athletic girls in my high school. So when I would see girls jumping around on tv, smiling, and being carefree it made me stop and think “I want to feel that.”

Turbo-Fire

A few years ago, a friend of mine gave me her set of Turbo Fire dvds to try out. She knew I was struggling yet again with losing weight and knew I needed something fresh to try. I decided to commit to the 90 day program and see if it actually worked. My first week was embarrassing. I couldn’t land the moves since I haven’t worked out in the longest time. I was getting frustrated with myself because I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist. But, I knew I had to stick with something for once and follow it the whole way through.

After my first week, I finally learned the moves. I could jump in the air, not pretty, but I could do it. I started to feel really good about myself. I wasn’t losing the weight I wanted to, but I was starting to feel good. This was a new feeling for me. Chalene Johnson, the instructor and creator of Turbo Fire, is an amazing teacher. She motivated me and pushed me at the exact moments I felt like giving up. It was like she could watch me from my tv. Long story short, I stuck out the program, lost 10 lbs and actually kept it off. I lost inches all over and could wear my jeans from high school. So I began digging more into what “BeachBody” was.

p90x

A month after I completed Turbo Fire, I kept hearing about people trying P90X. Everyone said it was super hard and they couldn’t finish half of the workouts. But I also saw a difference in my friends. They were losing weight. They were more fit. They looked incredible. I’m always up for a challenge, so I made my first purchase. I lost 30 lbs and 11 inches all over in just 90 days. Um, ok.. this was new to me. Sure, I lost weight prior to p90x and turbo fire, but I never kept it off. I always gained it back. Nothing ever truly worked for me. Til this day, I still kept that weight off, even when I went way off track. Obviously, I knew BeachBody was the real deal.

I started liking Facebook pages, joining groups, created a free profile, etc… I became obsessed. Then I won a Shakeology 3 day cleanse pack. What was Shakeology?

shakeologyvs

I tried the cleanse, lost 5 pounds in 3 days, and became a shakeo addict. Back then, there were only 2 flavors: Regular Chocolate and Greenberry. I was in love. I never tasted anything so good that actually kept me full. I bought my first bag and drank a shake every day. I felt a difference in my body. I wasn’t tired anymore. I had energy. I felt clean and healthy. My skin was glowing and I just felt like an overall happy and positive person. I no longer had to take iron pills because Shakeology has all the vitamins that I need and then some. Down side to Shakeology – I was at a job making only $8.25 an hour and was living paycheck to paycheck.

Shakeology is pricy, no doubt. Well, it only comes down to $4 per shake, which is a whole meal, but in one sitting it’s $120. That’s a lot for someone living paycheck to paycheck to fork out at once. I got upset and felt discouraged mainly because I hated having a job where I couldn’t afford something that changed my life. That’s when my coach, Lauren, found me. She started talking to me about what a coach does. Who they are. Filled me in on everything. When I heard her say “you actually save money being a coach. You make money. You get 25% off of everything, including Shakeology. That’s $30 off!” Alright, you have my interest!

Beachbody-Coaching

I joined up as a coach in November 2012. November has always been a tough time for me, that’s when my father passed away when I was 16. So that month is always a bit tough for me. So when Lauren contacted me the day my father passed away, I knew it was a sign from him. I knew he wanted me to do this, with Lauren, with her team, and do something meaningful with my life.

Since then, she still inspires me and pushes me. She taught me everything I needed to know about the business. She took the time to answer all of my questions and concerns and really teach me what it meant to be a coach. I love my team – we have amazing girls who I get to keep in touch with daily/weekly. We do calls each week to see where we are at the in business, motivate each other to do more, and push each other to be the best we know we can be. We help each other stay accountable and run challenge groups together helping other people change their life.

coaches

So if you love having people motivate you and support you, then coaching is for you. When you sign up, you also sign up an entire family. These girls are not only my teammates, but becoming amazing friends of mine. They’ve changed my for the better. It’s been a year – and I never once regretted my decision on this.

So what do you get when you first sign up? Well, you get a coach and a diamond coach. Lauren is my go-to coach, kind of like a boss. Angie Green is my diamond coach, sort of like the CEO of your company. You get automatic access to our two Facebook group pages – Team Dynamite (which has a ton of coaches to help answer questions, give updates, tips, and much more) and a smaller group, Team Pinnacle. Team Pinnacle is Lauren’s group that she started. We do weekly homework assignments, do weekly conference calls where we call in for 20 minutes once a week and talk about what we did for that week, our goals, dreams, and what we can do as a team. We plan out new challenge groups, review personal development, and lift each other up when we slack off. It’s a great support system.

Here are the main things you also get:

  • 25% off programs, supplements, and apparel
  • 25% commission on everything you sell
  • automatic access to the people behind BeachBody & celebrity trainers

coach_ranks

To start out, you pay a $40 sign up fee. This covers your first month and the start up kit that gets automatically mailed out to you. This covers the basics on everything you need to know to coach. After your first month, it’s just $16 a month. In order to remain an “active” coach, you must have 50 point values per month. So if you are on Shakeology HD, you don’t need to worry about going inactive because Shakeology will cover that. This is something I will go into more detail about with people who sign me up as their coach. If you go inactive, it’s really not a big deal. So do not stress yourself out about maintaining this.

The more people you get to coach with you, the higher you rank up. A lot of people have turned this into a full time job. They make 6 figures just coaching. Sounds like a pretty good goal, wouldn’t you agree? Anything is possible when you put your mind to it. What you get out of coaching is what you put into it. If you just want to coach for the discount, that’s great. You would be crazy not to sign up and save yourself the money. Do you want to make a second income and go on fancy trips and have the money to afford it? Then, you would do more with the business. Post more. Connect with people more. This is YOUR business – you do whatever you want! You get to be your own boss.

Enough with the specifics, here is what I do:

  • connect with people
  • help people lose weight and give them healthy tips to feel better
  • run challenge groups to hold people accountable
  • push and motivate people to make healthier decisions
  • hold myself accountable – being a coach means people are watching me, which means I need to be a product of the product
  • help change lives while changing mine

Since I became a coach, a lot of people have noticed a difference in me. I don’t go out to the bars anymore and party. I’m not miserable or angry. I have energy to do things now and enjoy being around people. I’m happy and more positive and great things have started happening in my life… and it’s just the beginning! What’s the best thing that has happened since I began coaching? I went on a hugeeee trip last June where I struggled with money. We were leaving Friday for Philly – a 3 day vacation. Hm, I checked my bank account the Monday before we left and didn’t like what I saw in my account.

I started panicking and thinking “oh my god, I booked this trip and I can’t even afford to go. I can’t afford to buy anything. I can’t afford meals… what am I going to do?” Thursday came around (which is BeachBody pay day) and I checked my account again. I had a huge deposit made into my account and couldn’t figure out where it came from. I checked my online office on Team BeachBody and saw I made a few sales. I now had enough money to have a great trip and not have to worry about money. Do you know how good that feels? I was starting to make money without even trying. I was making new friends from people I’ve helped without even going out to the bar. My life was finally going into the direction I wanted and dreamed it would go.

Things to come:

I’m going to interview a few other coaches and get their input and view on what coaching means to them. I’m also going to interview people who have completed BeachBody programs and their results. I’m also going to talk to my coaches and get their feedback. I will add the links here once I get the articles wrote up.

If you’re interested in learning more, please do not hesitate to contact me! Email me, comment below, text me, Facebook me… whatever you need to do. If you’re interested in becoming a coach, simply go to… www.teambeachbody.com/BKEllis – click sign me up as a coach. When I’m your coach, you get a full support system and amazing people to help you along with your journey while we are making ours. Don’t put off this amazing opportunity anymore.

Decide. Commit. Succeed.

– Brittny

2 thoughts on “You’re a…BeachBody Coach?

  1. AMAZING POST!!!! I had no idea I contacted you on the day your father passed away – that’s crazy – and yes, very much a sign! Also, your 1 year is coming up…hope you’re planning for something BIG! You girls inspire me, everyday! Keep pushing yourself and being amazing! xo

Leave a Reply

