Weekend Recap + Paleo Review

That feeling when you thought it was Thursday and it turns out it’s only Wednesday? Yeah, no “Happy Humpday” for this girl. But good news, I am down 3 lbs… so that is keeping my head above the clouds during work ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m currently on week 2 of following the Paleo diet, so it is officially review time!

Normally when I follow popular diets and go off of them even for a day, I gain some weight back. So I decided to do an experient this weekend with this diet. All week my meals have consisted of the following:

Breakfast: 2 scrambled eggs + 2 pcs of bacon

Lunch: Vegan Tropical Strawberry Shakeo mixed with ice, almond milk, and 1 tbsp of almond butter

Snack: almonds or a banana

Dinner: Large steak salad or Brussels Sprouts with chicken or steak

For my workouts, I’ve been walking/jogging every day along with following the ChaLean Extreme month 2 calendar. I felt clean, light, full, and full of energy. I’ve been actually craving water due to eating a lot of protein. I don’t even need to count calories with this diet because I’m always under my goal… and that’s an amazing feeling.

Now, for my experience… this weekend my family planned a small trip for us down to Harper’s Ferry, WV. I was really worried because I would be needing to eat out instead of my prepped meals. I had no idea that the Paleo Diet would be really simple and easy to follow when dining out. We stopped at a small country restaurant for breakfast where I ate eggs, bacon, and sausage. No problemo there! But then dinner came and we went to Cracker Barrel. Normally, when I eat here, I eat way too much, get sick, and gassy. So I decided to order what I normally order and see how I would feel. For once, I wasn’t sick. I was full, yes, and could tell I didn’t eat my typical “clean” meal, but I was absolutely fine FOR ONCE! Eating super clean for the whole week cleaned out my body and showed me that I can have a cheat meal once a week and feel ok about it. And surprisingly, I didn’t gain any weight. I was still down 3 lbs. How awesome is that?

I have 2 girls I work with now starting the diet. I feel so good about that, plus it’s motivating for me to not screw up because I can’t let people down. Also, the doctors in my office have decided to start a Biggest Loser contest for us girls giving away high money for 3 winners. Now it’s time to get my booty into some serious gear! fter work, I will be heading to the grocery store and herbal store to pick up more food! Now onto my weekend…

harpers ferry collage

Like I mentioned above, my family (about 17 of us) took a road trip down to West Virigina to visit Harper’s Ferry since we love the Civil War era. It was absolutely breath taking down there. We met up with some of my family who stayed over night at their hotel and then left to get breakfast. We got to see a lot of really cool things. Plus, it was an intense workout! Everything we wanted to see involved a lot of hiking, walking, and stair climbing. I was dead tired by the end of the day, but it was so much fun.

church

This was the worst climb of my life. It’s an ancient Catholic Church that set up on top of this huge mountain side where you had to climb at least 100 steep rocks to get to. It was worth it at the end, because it was air conditioned lol we were all dying! It was 91 out that day, so we hung out inside for at least 30 minutes.

rock

After the hike up to the church, I thought that was the end of our adventure until we had to literally hike up to the rock where Thomas Jefferson stood. Needless to say, some of us made it to the top and some of us didn’t… I made it, boom! Haha

After we stopped to see a few museums and ate dinner, we ventured home until I eventually passed out. I can’t remember the last time I was that tired. The next day, I laid on the couch all day from being super sore and caught up on my shows. In the evening, my boyfriend stopped and picked me up and took me to get food at our favorite pizza place. No worries! I ordered a salad. We watched a movie and got some sleep since we had a busy day planned on Labor Day.

steelersWe woke up, got ready, and headed to Pittsburgh. We stopped at the Monroeville Mall to do some shopping! I was in my glory, minus the comic book store being closed. I stayed up the night before making a list of all the comics I wanted to purchase. Grr. But, Express did have a huge sale where everything was 40% off. Score! I got a really pretty white top perfect for the Fall season. After that, we stopped in Macy’s where they had a MAC counter… AHHH! I bought some lipstick and my boyfriend bought me foundation. His exact words were
“You know I love when I just spent $30 on powder.” ๐Ÿ™‚ I also found the cutest Steelers cardigan. This was probably my favorite purchase! I am in Steelers heaven.

thai food

We stopped at our favorite thai food place, but they were closed for the holiday. So we went back to Monroeville and found a new Thai place to try… which was incredible. It’s called the Green Mango… So I think we might just start going to this one. Yes, I had my cheat meal for the week.. I couldn’t resist.

pittsburgh collage

Once we finished our meals, we picked up his one friend from Pittsburgh, Greg, and went to the zoo. The weather was perfect and we got to see all of the animals for once. My boyfriend also bought me a stuffed fox since they’re my addiction. Yes, I am 23 years old collecting stuffed animals. I’m a kid at heart ๐Ÿ˜‰ We dropped his friend off and then headed back home. It was the perfect weekend. But I’m really thankful to have this weekend plan free! I needย a break.

Coming up: Review on my latest challenge group and news on our brand new one that is starting up in the Fall! I wlil also be finished with month 2 of CLX, so I’ll be writing my review on that. Until next day, have a wonderful evening!

– Brittny

Leave a Reply

