Paleo Diet + Weekly Workout Schedule!

Good morning afternoon!

My day is flying by today… and I am not complaining! Now, if the week could hurry up to this weekend, I would be so thankful! I am in need of a 3 day weekend.

If you haven’t read my post yesterday, today I’ll be posting about the Paleo diet that I began yesterday. It’s something I feel that everyone can try and it’s simple to follow.

 

 

paleo-pyramid

What you can eat:

  • Turkey
  • Steak
  • Beef
  • Chicken
  • Eggs
  • Bacon
  • Pork
  • Veggies
  • Fruits
  • Nuts
  • Salads

What you can’t eat:

  • Dairy
  • Breads
  • Processed Foods
  • Sugars
  • Grains
  • Beans

This is just to give you a basic idea. For the full list of items, check out this site: Paleo Diet Food List

In my last post, I said that people also call this the “caveman diet,” because you basically eat natural and fresh foods, just like the cavemen did centuries ago. I wouldn’t consider this a “diet” because these are the foods you should be eating to begin with. Eating processed foods are so bad on your body and health. Also, when following this plan, avoid drinking juices that are from concentrate. Try finding juices that say not from concentrate. Drinking juice that is from concentrate defeats the purpose of drinking a healthy drink because they take out the nutrients needed that are healthy. Also, this makes people gain weight in the stomach area and makes it much harder to lose from that area.

 

groceries

Sunday night, my boyfriend came down and we headed to Walmart to get some groceries so that I could start this on Monday (yesterday).

Here are the items that I bought:

  • Eggs
  • Bananas
  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Minced Garlic
  • Pine Nuts
  • Almonds
  • Asparagus
  • Steak
  • Chicken
  • Canned Veggies
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Silk Almond Milk
  • All Natural Dairy Free Dressing
  • Mushrooms
  • Spinach
  • Bacon (yes, I can eat bacon and not feel guilty!)
  • Organic salsa
  • Natural Almond Butter

I also bought my niece a Batman backpack since she started high school today. Yes, I am the best aunt in the world! A-hem, anyway… this will be able to last me all week. So here is a typical layout of what I will be eating:

Breakfast: 2 eggs, 2 pieces of bacon, 1 cup of sauteed spinach, and 1/4 cup sauteed mushrooms. Sometimes, I add some salsa on top for extra flavor with pepper. No salt!

Lunch: Vegan Tropical Strawberry Shakeology mixed with 1 tbsp of all natural almond butter, ice, and 1 cup of almond milk.

Dinner: Steak/Chicken Salad, or meat with a side of veggies

Snacks: almonds, pine nuts, lara bars, shakeo, or veggies.

Again, this is the meal plan I am following. You don’t have to follow this exact plan – as there are a ton of meals and options you can choose from. Mix and match!

I’m almost finished with day 2. I can feel a huge difference in my body already. Normally, when I eat meals I feel gassy, bloated, and weighed down. But these past 2 days I feel light and clean. I’m excited to see how the rest of the week plays out!

 

 

For my workouts, I will be adding cardio every single day. Once I’ve completed my cardio workout, I’ll be adding weight lifting and toning. Every other day, I will work a certain part of my muscles. It’s important to work your muscles every other day. One day do arms and legs, the next do abs and butt, then repeat…

So since I wanted to add some lifting, I decided to finish out ChaLean Extreme. I completed month 1 and reviewed it, but never wrote up the rest of the program. So I wanted to restart it and give full updates!

I plan to run/walk/hike every day and add in CLX plus my Tone It Up workouts. I like to get a variety so I don’t get bored with working out.

 

hiking

Speaking of hiking, yesterday after work I met my friend Priscilla and we went for an hour hike on the mountain. After our hike, we sat by the falls and ate dinner. I packed a steak salad with some water. It was sooo beautiful and a lot of fun. Plus it’s great when you have a workout buddy and switching up the routine. We decided to try and do this twice a week and get more people to tag along. The more the better!

Weekly Workout Schedule:

Monday – Hiking

Tuesday – CLX Push Circuit 1 + Walk/Jog

Wednesday – CLX Burn Intervals + Tone It Up

Thursday – CLX Push Circuit 2 + Hiking

Friday – CLX + Running

Saturday – CLX + Tone It Up

Sunday – Rest Day

Tomorrow I will be posting about the Liebster Award and hopefully get that started! Also, I’ll be including more of meal plans, challenge group conclusion, and updates!

xo Brittny

Leave a Reply

