Tone It Up: 5 Day Slim Down Review

5dsd

As many of you know, this week I started the 5 Day Slim Down by Tone It Up. If you are unfamiliar with who the tone it up girls are, they are two girls who are best friends that started a fitness and health program together. They have workout videos on YouTube, a blog where they post weekly routines and recipes, an app where you can check in daily, and a community page where a bunch of girls get on like Facebook and check in with one another and support each other. Check out their site for more: www.toneitup.com

Two weeks ago, I purchased their regular nutrition plan after reading many reviews. I haven’t had a chance to read the whole book yet, since it is 184 pages, but from what I’ve read so far I can tell this is something that will inspire and change me. I’ve already gained so much knowledge and a better understanding of what eating healthy really means. Included in the plan are quick slim down plans to help you get started on your health journey. So a group of 30 girls and myself started the 5 Day Slim Down plan together. We checked in daily of our workouts and recipes via Instagram, Twitter, and the TIU site.

Here is what a typical day requires:

  • M1: Bombshell Spell (a drink that wakes you up & cleans you out)
  • AM Workout: Choose a 30 minute workout of cardio (walking, yoga, HIIT workout…)
  • M2: Breakfast (you choose from a list of what you want to eat)
  • M3: One Piece (this is a piece of fruit you eat between breakfast & lunch)
  • M4: Bikini Wrap (you choose from a list of healthy wraps as your lunch)
  • M5: 3:30-4 PM: Juice of Smoothie (this is to reenergize you before your PM workout)
  • PM Workout: Do a 30 minute workout of anything you choose.
  • M6: Dinner (choose from a selection of healthy dinner options)
  • One Piece: Eat another piece of fruit if needed as a snack

bs

Day 1: I started my morning with a drink called a Bombshell Spell… this is a drink that you drink every morning before or with your breakfast. It’s made up of pineapple juice, apple cider vinegar, lime juice, and honey. It helps to give you a natural energy boost, cleans out your system, and gives you a glow. I have a hard time waking up in the morning before work, so I was really surprised at how I felt after drinking this. I felt wide awake and so clean. I thought this was caused only by my mere excitement to try this slim down, so I waited to see how I felt during the rest of the week.

day 1

For my AM workout, I did the Beach Babe HIIT the Beach II. This was one of the workouts on their new fitness DVD (which I also ordered last week…) It was a killer! Unfortunately, it was a little too much for me to handle in the morning before work since I’m not used to waking up that early. But it woke me up and kept me energized all day long. I didn’t go to work that morning since I didn’t feel the greatest, so I did a few chores and then made some waffles with all natural syrup and fresh cut strawberries. This helped replenish me and kept me full until my snack. For my snack, I had 1 whole banana. I also drank a ton of water to help keep me hydrated after such an intense workout.

1 lunch

For lunch, I made the Simple Spicy Mustard Wrap from the nutrition plan. It was sooo good! I never liked the taste of mustard, but it tasted great with this salad which was made up of collards, gluten free chicken, red onion, and a spicy mustard dressing. I drank a Shakeology shake for my smoothie, since I can’t go one day without having one.

1 dinner

After my shake, I felt energized enough to do my second workout. I did the Hula Booty workout to help tone me up. I was definitely feeling the soreness the next morning! It’s been a while since I started toning workouts again. For dinner, my cousin Haily came down to watch some movies with me and the girls. So I made my dinner up quick which was a Portobello mushroom cap and 2 scoops of quinoa. Then, I added some balsamic vinaigrette which gave it amazing flavor. Definitely one of my new favorite recipes!

Thoughts: I loved the meals for day 1 and felt really clean and light. I felt a little hungry, but that’s because I’m used to eating a ton of food and not watching my portions. I also wasn’t thrilled about working out twice in a day, but again, I haven’t been working out as much lately and was feeling lazy.

day 2

Day 2: I woke up and drank my bombshell drink and then headed off to work. I missed my morning workout, but I figured I could just double up for my PM workout. For my breakfast, I made some Kashi cereal. It wasn’t my favorite, but it was still good. Personally I thought it was too dry. This was the vanilla option… I forget the name of it. For my Tankini, I had some juice and then water. I had a small bowl of fresh strawberries as my mid-morning snack. No sugar added for once! I had another spicy mustard wrap for my lunch since I made extra the day before. I made another shake as my mid-afternoon snack to boost me into pulling off a double workout.

4th

I added their new Fourth of July circuit to my PM workout. This had me on my butt! I almost gave up the idea of doing a second workout, but I wanted to actually stick out the program since it is only for 5 days. So I did the HIIT workout again to help burn some calories that I didn’t in the morning. After doing this workout, I felt even more energized and decided to do the Sunkissed Abs routine since it wasn’t that long. I skipped the warm up and got right to it. It wasn’t too intense, but I could feel the burn.

day 2 dinner

When I went grocery shopping for this, I was skeptical in buying Brussels Sprouts. I never ate them before and wasn’t sure I would be a big fan of them. But I bought them anyways since the recipe sounded good. My boyfriend came down when I was cooking and I made him try one of them first. He instantly loved it and it got me excited to try it. I added seasonings, minced garlic, olive oil, pine nuts, salt, and pepper. I was addicted. I couldn’t believe how good this tasted! He kept trying to steal them while I turned my back. Everyone loved them… now I’m a huge BS fan! After dinner, Nate and I hung out with the family for awhile before calling it a night.

Thoughts: I was full, satisfied, and felt amazing. I am so used to eating so much for dinner that I couldn’t believe 2 cups of a veggie would fill me up. I wasn’t even hungry after dinner, so I skipped the snack. Bring on day 3!

PicMonkey Collage

Day 3: Woke up earlier than I normally do and had my morning Bombshell drink. I did some light yoga stretching in the morning since I was feeling a little sore from all of the toning exercises I’ve been doing. I got ready for work, packed my lunch bag full of goodies, and headed off to work. I made some waffles for my breakfast with honey. So yummy! I enjoyed an iced coffee as well since it was a little hot in the office. I made a PB&J sandwich on wheat bread for lunch since the wraps I had weren’t good. Whoops! (Note to self: check expiration dates on items before starting a slim down…)

My mid-afternoon snack was a vanilla shakeo… wait, vanilla? Yes! My order of Vanilla Shakeology finally arrived the day before. I was so anxious to finally try the new flavor. I made a simple recipe and mixed it with ice + almond milk. It was amazing. Vanilla is my favorite flavor and reminds me of the summer. So this was just what I needed after a long day. Once I got home, my boyfriend came down and we got ready and went to church with my family. After church, we stopped at the grocery store and Nate bought me some wheat wraps. This made me happy because I wanted to try the PB&J on the wrap itself. Unfortunately, an emergency came up and I couldn’t do my PM workout or even make my coach call with my BB team. I was bummed out, but it happens. I knew in order to make it up, I would have to do a two hour workout on Thursday. Once we got home, I made some shrimp and rice for dinner.

Thoughts: Woke up feeling great, went to bed bummed out… that’s life!

day 4

Day 4: I was sooo tired whenever I woke up since I managed getting 4 hours of sleep. I was not in the greatest of moods, but I had my BS drink and went about my morning. I was running late so I missed my booty call workout again. This just simply meant more workout time whenever I got home. I was fine with this notion since I was a little stressed. Working out is the best stress reliever in the world & people take it for granted! Breakfast was more waffles since they were easy to grab in the morning. I made a quick PB&J wrap for my lunch and ran out the door.. literally.

I loved eating the PB&J wrap probably more than any lunch I’ve had yet. I was so shocked that something so small could keep me full until my mid-afternoon snack. I’ve had it in my head for soooo long that I need to eat this amount of food in order to feel full. I’ve been  wrong for so long and now I understand what foods to mix together in order to keep you full and satisfied. I’ll be making these wraps at least twice a week for my lunch. After work, I went to Walmart and picked up some groceries since I’ve been running low. I finally picked up some coconut water since I kept seeing the other girls posting about it. I’ve read that coconut water is an all natural and healthy way to help you hydrate after intense workouts. It’s also low in calories and tastes surprisingly good.

coco water

I got a variety of different flavors and brands. I’m not a huge fan of the Vita Coco water, but I really enjoyed the Zico flavors. So I think I’ll be sticking with that brand.

day 4 wo

Once I got home, it was time to get my workout on. I completed Beach Barre workout from the BB DVD along with their Stars & Stripes workout. It took me about 30 minutes to complete that circuit, I was feeling better and felt the stress melt off of me. I needed to do at least 1 more hour of working out, so I popped in some Turbo Fire. By 6:30, I was laying on my floor exhausted. After about 5 minutes, I peeled myself off the floor, got a shower, and started making my dinner. I chose the North Shore Garlic Shrimp recipe from the plan with 2 small scoops of quinoa. The shrimp was made with garlic, paprika, salt, pepper, and other ingredients. By far the best shrimp I’ve ever ate. Have I mentioned how much I am LOVING the nutrition meals? After dinner, I relaxed with the family and then went to sleep. I didn’t want to miss by booty call workout in the morning.

P.S., a “booty call” workout is what the TIU girls say. It’s an alarm on the app where they wake you up in the morning to get you awake to get your workout on. Pretty cute…

Thoughts: I felt accomplished and really proud that I caught up on my workouts. I felt flat & toned. I went to bed well rested and ready to go strong on my last day.

day 5

Day 5 – final day! My booty call went off at 5:00 am. I woke up, ran upstairs, drank my drink and got my workout clothes on. I did some Turbo Fire before I got ready for work. Once I was ready, I checked my phone and saw that the girls from TIU liked a few of my photos on IG. This completely made me whole day. They’ve quickly become two of my biggest role models and inspirations… just what I needed!

For breakfast, I made a bowl of Kashi cereal. This time, I tried the granola kind instead of the graham cracker vanilla stuff.. this was much better. I love granola cereal, so I’ll be sticking with this kind. It tasted so light and clean. For lunch, I made another spicy mustard wrap since I had to use up the ingredients before they went bad.

shakeo

My mid-afternoon snack was a vanilla chai shakeo. Whenever I was at walmart on Thursday, I picked up the Bolthouse vanilla chai drink and wanted to mix it into my shake. It was incredible. I love vanilla chai lattes, so I was amazed at how good this tasted being compared to like Starbucks or restaurant styled drinks. I think this is probably one of the best shakes I’ve ever had in my life. After work, I went home and did my workouts. Dinner was the roasted Brussels sprouts recipe since I needed to eat them up before they went bad as well. No complaining from me! Loved them.

sheet

Once I finished my dinner, I sat down at the table and filled in the rest of my progress chart. It felt so good filling in each square. The goal behind this slim down was to complete everything. I am a super organized person, so this felt great filling everything in and seeing that I finally accomplished something. Consistency is a huge problem with me, I get excited about something and then get bored with it. Well, if you are trying to lose weight and get toned, consistency is a MUST HAVE. This plan has brought fun back into my life and taught me ways to keep it interesting and fun. Now I have the knowledge to switch up my routines so I don’t get bored and to treat every week like a slim down…

Thoughts: I felt beyond happy. I actually accomplished something and stuck with a plan. I feel smart because I learned new tricks & tips. I was excited to wake up on Saturday morning and see my results.

To see the other girl’s check ins & results, go to Twitter or Instagram & search the hashtag #summer5DSD – so inspiring and can’t believe how many check-ins we got!

RESULTS DAY: I woke up earlier than normal on a Saturday. I couldn’t sleep in, not because I was anxious but because I had an amazing sleep and felt so energized in the morning. I looked at myself in the mirror and couldn’t believe how flat in my tummy I looked. My skin was glowing. I felt light and clean outside & inside. I ran upstairs and hopped on the scale and saw I was down 3.7 pounds. JUST IN 5 DAYS! The shocking part was that I actually ate a lot of food. I didn’t starve myself. I didn’t deprive myself of anything. I was satisfied with every single meal I had. This made me smile from ear to ear.

today

I ordered their Perfect Fit Protein powder when I bought the nutrition plan. It’s an all natural/vegan brown rice powder to make pancakes, muffins, baked goods, and waffles instead of using fattening mixtures. I tried their pancake recipe and wow. I was amazed at how good they turned out. You mix the protein powder, egg whites, mashed banana, almond milk, cinnamon, and then top it off with honey or syrup + fruit. Don’t they look fantastic?

After my breakfast, I made a BS drink before doing some chores around the house. Then I ran down to the post office to mail out my customers shakeo sample packets. I’m hoping they love the new flavor as much as I do.

If you are interested in trying the new flavor, comment or message me and I will be more than happy to mail you a free sample! Check out more info at www.myshakeology.com/BKEllis (if the link doesn’t work, it’s because word press sometimes disables opening links… just copy & paste it into your url bar.)

Stay tuned this week for more updates!

xo Brittny

UPDATE: Check out my new Tone It Up Nutrition Plan Review!

 

48 thoughts on “Tone It Up: 5 Day Slim Down Review

  1. Hi
    I’m from Australia and am currently doing the slim down myself ! I loved reading your post and couldn’t agree more about how good you feel because i’m feeling energised and light and also full 🙂

    i would love a sample !! ibe heard a lot about this shakeology and would love to try it before buying in bulk.

    regards Nicole

    • Hi Nicole! I hope you had great results doing your slim down.. I know I did! Did you stick with the whole 5 days?

      Send me an email and we can talk more about getting you a shakeo sample! 🙂

  2. Hi… I’ve been trying to research this nutrition plan before spending all that money on it. If you don’t mind, can you please answer a few questions? 🙂 like- how hard are the recipes if you work all day and get home late (and eat lunch at your desk!); is it a lot of seafood (my husband is a picky eater so I’m worried we’ll be making two meals); and is it worth the money? Lastly, do they easily explain “hit”? Thanks a million!!!

    • Hi Caitlin! Thanks for posting..

      I don’t blame you for wanting to research before spending that much money. That’s what I did as well. Honestly, I think it’s the greatest nutrition plan I have ever read. I’ve read all the BeachBody nutrition guides, diet books after diet books, and researched sooo many foods and yeah, I got a lot of great recipes from those books, but I never understood what and why I was eating. The Tone It Up plan is so much more than just recipes. It tells you what meals to eat for breakfast and which breakfast foods you can eat throughout the day. It helps you understand when to eat starchy foods and when to cut back. I have learned a lot and what is super awesome is it’s a one time fee and you’re a member for life. They will email you directly all their new upgrades and new plans.

      I too have a desk job and work 40+ hours a week so I don’t always have the time or energy when I get home to spend 2 hours cooking. Their recipes are pretty simple and fast to make. Some are every day ingredients you have at the house while others are ingredients you have to search for. So it really is for everybody. There are a few seafood ingredients, but for the most part it’s every day foods. My boyfriend is a picky eater as well and is not a huge health freak like me, but so far every single meal I’ve made for both of us he loves. It’s just getting them to try the food that is the hardest lol

      Also, they do breakdown their workouts and help you understand them as well. They do explain “HIIT” which is High Intensity Interval Training. That is my all time go to workout when I need to scorch calories. I hope this helps! Let me know if you have anymore questions.

      As for my shakes, I drink Shakeology. You can get more info on that from my Shakeo site (myshakeology.com/BKEllis) – you might have to copy & paste the link because this blog blocks alot of direct links. I also make a bunch of shakes from the TIU plan.

  3. Hi, my name is Michele Hurd. I was so amazed about your 5dayslim down an how you got through it. I had just wanted to ask you stated you do the bombshell drink in the morning, so is the MetaD for the 7 day slim down? I was just curious and also does the shakeology really work? I have heard it mentioned several times during my Insanity workouts, but I heard different ratings/reviews about the taste and texture: so therefore I be having mixed emotions on purchasing the product. Last I like how you kept a log of your productivity and the foods you prepared looked so delicious! Keep up the good and hard work

    • Hi Michele! Thanks for reading my blog 🙂

      The 5DSD was tough, not because the recipes didn’t keep me full but it was a lot of meal prepping involved. With the bombshell spell, it’s basically just like the MetaD, but according to the plan, you can drink whichever 2 of those drinks you like. You don’t have to follow the plans super strict, you can mix in whatever you like more. I’m more of a bombshell drink girl.

      Shakeology works if you still maintain a healthy diet. You can’t drink a shake and then get McDonalds for dinner, ya know? I personally love the flavors and tastes. The vegan options have a chalky texture, which isn’t my favorite. But they are still good. I lose weight and feel healthier when I drink them every day and follow a good diet. I have samples if you would like to try the vanilla and chocolate. Do you have a Beach Body Coach? I like to log everything I do. I bought a day planner and write down my meals, workouts, and how I feel. Then when I want to go off track, I read through them and get inspired. I love writing things and keeping track of things. So if you struggle staying motivated, you should give that a try.

      • My name is Whitlie and I have been dying to try shakeology! I’ve heard so many good things about it.

  4. So glad I read this! I’ve been doing the tone it up workouts and following the blog for about a year, but I’m not an official member. I’m definitely going to sign up now though! Eager to try the 5 or 7 day slim down

    • You won’t regret buying the nutrition plan. I’m going to do a review of the plan one of these days when I’m not so busy haha! But they have a ton of options: vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, regular plan, etc… and it’s nice getting the free editions. They keep creating more recipes that are healthy to try and sent right to your email. It will really help you understand what foods you should be eating to reach your goals.

  5. Just out of curiosity what did you use for the pb and j wraps? I have never thought of that and would love to try it. What are your suggestions?

    • I used whole wheat small wraps and then added the Smuckers organic chunky peanut butter with organic smuckers grape jelly. I had just 1 wrap and it actually kept me full for my lunch. I had my mind programmed that I have to eat big meals to feel full and that’s why I struggle losing weight. But with these meals, you eat less and feel just as full. I have an office job, so I just made my meals the night before, packed them in my lunch box with a cooler inside it. Very simple lunch and no mess. You can use any jelly you want, but I like to stick with organic and all natural – it’s very important to use all natural with the wraps.

  6. Hi,

    I am interested in buying the nutrition plan so your blog was a great example and I’m really excited to sign up.

    Just one question I hope you might be able to answer…

    Do we have to use the protein powder or can we leave it out of the recipes? Or even replace it with something else?

    Claire

    • Hi Claire! That’s a great question.. a lot of their smoothie and dessert recipes suggest using their Perfect Fit protein (including the pancakes) but you definitely don’t have to use it. You can use whatever protein powder you like for your smoothies and just use a healthier flour for the baked goods including pancakes. Before I got their protein powder, I was just using the vanilla protein powders I had at home and when I made their pancakes and other desserts, I just used the nutritional flour I got at the whole foods store. With their nutrition plan and recipes, you can mix and match any ingredient you want. That’s what is really nice about the plan. I improvise with a lot of their recipes. I hope this helped!

  7. Hi! Thanks for posting this blog entry even though it’s kind of old news. I’m interested in purchasing their nutrition plan but can’t decide on the Regular or Vegetarian. I avoid meat if I can but sometimes, maybe twice a week, I will have grass fed beef or eggs. The rest of the time I eat vegetarian options. I’m hesitant to purchase the Regular plan and see chicken or fish at every meal. But I can’t commit to the vegetarian one because I’m weary it’s going to be full of tofu and I don’t like eating a ton of soy….

    Out of curiosity, which plan did you get and (if you got the regular) would you say it involves eating chicken/fish at every meal?? Thanks for your input!

    • Hey Alisha! I’m glad you asked, I actually bought the Regular plan. I was hesitant myself on which plan to get since there are so many and I like sticking with gluten free meals and try to avoid eating a lot of meat. With the regular plan, I was surprised because there actually isn’t a lot of meats in it. They do list chicken and fish, but they also say if you don’t want to eat chicken, replace it with black beans etc… I’ve noticed they don’t use a lot of tofu products or soy. For the most part, everything is mainly veggies. So for you, I think getting the regular plan would benefit your needs. I’m not sure what’s all on their vegetarian plan, but the regular plan isn’t too far off from being vegetarian. I don’t even think there are beef options on the plan. And for their burgers, they use black beans and mash them up into burger patties. I would say get the regular, but that’s just my opinion. I incorporate a lot of my own options into their recipes that suit my needs. With their recipes, it’s super easy to do that and they list replacements you can use.

      Let me know if I can help more!

  8. Hi! I see this is sort of an older post and I am really trying to decide if I should buy this or not. Are you still sticking with it? And can you tell in your weight or inches that theres a change?

    • Hey Rachel!

      I am definitely still sticking with it. This is actually the only plan that I’ve stuck with… and I have tried every nutrition program under the sun. Plus with the new editions they keep adding on, you never get bored with recipes.

      I’ve lost inches all over (I don’t have my sheet with me at work lol) and have lost over 20 pounds. I’ve only been doing this since August, so I’m happy with my results thus far. I can tell a huge difference in weight, my skin, and health. I think it’s an excellent investment.

  9. How can I contact you regarding a free sample of shakes? I’ve always wanted to try shakology, but nervous to spend the money on trying it. I read your journey through tone it up and I’m going to go ahead and purchase it. Please let me know if you are still doing shakology. Thank you!

  10. I really love your review and all the different information that you gave on your Blog 🙂 I have been really researching the tone it up brand especially the nutrition plan, which sounds super good! I have been debating weather or not to get the plan. Do you think it is wroth it to invest in their plan and do you get full on the plan that they have? I hope you don’t mind me asking! Thanks for the all the information.

    • Thank you! I haven’t been blogging as much lately – but I do plan on getting back into the swing of things. I’m currently working on doing a full review of the plan.. so look for that in the near future 🙂

      Personally, I think their plan is amazing. I do weight watchers as well to help keep my sister motivated and I’ve noticed that all of the food they encourage you to eat at weight watchers is the same exact foods on Tone It Up. The difference: you pay a one time fee of $150 on Tone It Up compared to $43 a month at weight watchers. With tone it up, they continue adding on to their nutrition plan. This month, they added a LOVE YOUR BODY recipe edition. It’s like 24 pages or something of new recipes. So you will never, ever get bored of the meals. I am actually stuffed when I eat the meals. Stuffed, but not miserable, ya know? Normally when I eat I stuff myself full and then I’m so bloated and miserable that I would sometimes unbotton my jeans at restaurants lol! But on this plan, I am satisfied. They encourage you to actually eat and the recipes are so yummy. My boyfriend loves the foods as well. So it’s worth the investment. I don’t mind answering any questions, that’s what I’m here for 🙂

    • I sent you my email and address and still haven’t received my sample 😦 I’m still waiting to decide if I want to do it.

  11. Thanks so much for posting this review! So detailed and has definitely convinced me to try it 🙂 Also I would love to try some shakes if you still have samples! xx

  12. Thanks for this review! It’s really helpful! I’ve been debating getting this for a few weeks now…. I’ve posted my question about it several places, but can’t seem to get an answer, so I thought I would see what you thought! There was a similar question above about the difference between the regular and vegetarian plan… but I’m curious about the vegan plan. I have egg/poultry/dairy allergies… is there a lot of those things in the regular plan? If so, would they be easy to sub with something else? Any advice you might have on it is greatly appreciated!! =)

    • You’re welcome, Kelly! 🙂

      I looked over the review again this morning. The only recipes that have eggs are the pancakes and their scrambled egg options. But for the most part, all of their meals on the Regular plan are suitable for everyone. They don’t really use dairy (besides Greek yogurt) which you could easily find a replacement if you wanted to make the recipes that includes that. As for chicken, there really isn’t a lot of recipes that have meats. They mainly stick to veggies, grains, nuts, and fruits. That’s why I got the Regular plan because back when I was following a vegetarian lifestyle, this was still simple for me to follow. They don’t use regular milk… ever. They use Almond Milk, which I’m not sure if you would be able to drink that or not. But from my understanding people who do have dairy allergies drink it. I think the Vegan option is strictly for vegans, so if you don’t live that lifestyle maybe the Regular plan would be better for you? That would be your call. But everything I’ve seen so far doesn’t deal with a lot of dairy, meats, or eggs. I hope this helps!

      • That helps a lot!! Thank you!! Almond milk is all I use so that’s perfect! I tend to opt for vegan on things like dessert or some breakfast items just because it’s easier. But I still eat beef/pork/fish. So it sounds like the regular plan would work fine! You’ve helped immensely! Thanks again!! =)

  13. I’m looking into purchasing this program and your experience is super helpful!! I did have a question on all of the recipes though! Did you find yourself having to go grocery shopping and spending more money in order to make these recipes, or did you have a lot of the ingredients already on hand?

    • Hi Natale!

      That’s a really good question because I had to do this the hard way. At first, I did not have half of the ingredients they talk about. I wasn’t even sure what half of them were since I never ate healthy. Yes, I had to do some serious grocery shopping and had to buy spices and other small (pricy) ingredients in order to start making the recipes. But once I had them, they last you a really long time. But now, I can get their new editions and easily make any recipe since I have all the ingredients. So to answer your question: yes, you will have to start buying more groceries but after a few purchases, you won’t need to worry about going shopping every week. What’s also nice is usually every recipe has similiar ingredients. So you’re not gonna go buy Agave and only use it for one recipe. You’ll use it multiple times so you will be getting your money’s worth.

      Also, with their recipes, when I didn’t have the money to go out and get every single ingredient, I just improvised and cut out the ingredients I didn’t like or had. It’s very easy to mix or take away ingredients that you have or don’t enjoy with the recipes. That’s what I enjoy most about the plan. I hope this helps!

  14. Hi,

    I am seriously considering buying the Tone it up Nutrition plan but I can’t seem to figure out if the Nutrition plan is a “physical book” or not? I know the updates are all online via PDF documents but I was wondering if we get a first book-paper version when we purchase. If I read the info on the Tone it up website correctly, everything is PDF right?

    Thank you so much:)

    • You’re correct. It’s all PDF. If you would like a real book, then you would have to print it out and stick in a binder. Which is what I did, but I honestly never use that. I saved them onto my phone, iPad and computer and just use those when I’m cooking. Much easier and more convenient 🙂

  15. Hi there
    I live in Australia and have tried to get the Skakeology too! Because we live so far “Down Under” looks like company’s love charging us a fortune for shipping. I too would love a few samples of Shakeology. I’m happy to chat offline about postage rates etc!
    Love your blog, very inspirational and refreshing.

  16. Hey,
    not sure if the offer still stands but I would love to try a flavour of shakeology, I have been trying to decide on ordering it for a while now? What are your thoughts?

  17. Hi Brittany! I’m new to our blog (so glad I found it!), but have been following TIU for probably a year now, via their emails and YT channel, etc. I started buying the protein powder about a month ago, out of curiosity honestly, and to see if it was better than other protein powders I’ve tried. I’ve been really happy with it so far. I’ve been thinking about buying the nutrition plan for awhile now, and am deciding if I’ll get it in a couple of weeks when I get paid. I mainly have two questions for you about the plan: 1) do you have to eat 6 meals a day? I only ask because I’ve done that before and, even working in an office, found that really hard to maintain. (Sorry if you already answered that; I tried to scroll through the comments but didn’t see it anywhere.)

    2) I have a significant amount of weight to lose (probably close to 50lbs). Astonishingly, I usually eat pretty healthily as far as the types of foods I eat. I’m wondering if the plan goes into figuring out the amount you should be eating along the way? I ask this because obviously someone who weighs 180lbs is going to have to eat more than someone at 120lbs to not feel like sick all the time. I’m just curious if this is something they discuss, figuring out where on that ‘scale’ you should be. As a part 2 of this, I have heard in a few other places that the plan is designed for you to follow their w/o schedule. I’m all for working out and getting fit, but it seems like they recommend working out 2x a day often, and I’ll be honest, that’s more than I will commit to and I know it. What has been your experience with that aspect of it?

    Thanks so much in advance. Any insight would be helpful. As I said, I’m already a big fan of their workouts, although I don’t know if I would get in as much cardio as they seem to do 🙂

    • Hi Candace! Welcome and thank you! 🙂

      To answer your first question, yes. They do suggest eating the 6 small meals a day. I too have an office job and I’ve made this work for me. Basically their meals are simple: breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner. For my snacks, I just cut up some fresh fruit and keep it in the fridge at work. Or I buy the Luna bars. They strongly suggest eating the protein bars as a snack as well. I simply keep these in my desk drawers. I’ve noticed that eating the 6 small meals helps me feel energized throughout the day and helps me feel more full so that when I do go home to make dinner, I can actually workout before dinner and eat a lighter meal. It’s helped me a lot. But you don’t have to eat the small meals if it doesn’t fit with your lifestyle. Basically if you stick to their mottoe “Eat lean, clean, and green” you will feel a huge difference in your body.

      As for your second question, I am with you. While I’ve lost a good amount of weight I still have a long way to go. They do break it down in the nutrition plan on what you should be eating. What’s also nice about the plan is if you’re like me, which I’m assuming you are, I need to slim down and they make that easy for you. Each meal has a small icon showing which meals are made from slimming down, toning up, or maintaining. So I try and eat a lot of the slimming down meals. But I also mix in the toning up meals. Either way, you’re eating healthy and clean foods. You will start losing weight if you stick to clean eating. As for the working out part: they do suggest working out twice a day. But they also say that they get how people who work full time may not be able to get up early and get a cardio workout in. I am one of those people lol so basically their workouts are to do a 30 min cardio session in the morning and then a toning exercise in the evening. I just combine the two. So I’ll come home, do one of their short YT video workouts, and then walk on the treadmill or do some sort of cardio for about 20 minutes. I’ve pressured myself for a really long time on trying to maintain a 5 day workout schedule (mon to fri) and would get discouraged because other girls could do that and I couldn’t. So then I would stop working out and blah blah blah. Finally, I just said ya know what, I’m gonna workout when I can and give up the whole monday to friday routine. Since then, I feel better and actually look forward to my workouts. You just have to sit down and think about your life and your goals and what you do on a daily basis. For us girls, we need more cardio. So if that’s all you can do for now, do that. We need to bring down the weight. So cardio first and then some light toning.

      I hope this helps! What forms of cardio do you enjoy doing? Find one that makes you feel good and stick to that. They have their youtube videos that have cardio, walking, or beachbody has some good programs. Try incorporating yoga too. It has changed my life.

      • Hey! Thanks so much for taking the time to reply so thoroughly. I think I’ll probably give TIU a go. Like you, I get really down when I can’t stick to a 5 day a week workout schedule (which happens often), and then I end up just stopping all together. As you said, something is better than nothing, so if I need to start out at 3 days a week or something, I’ll start there and then branch out. Thank you so much for your insightful reply; I really appreciate it!

      • I personally love TIU above all other programs I’ve followed in the past. It’s very simple to use and gives you freedom to eat what suits you and your needs. Plus you get weekly emails from them, free editions.. it’s great.

        I was so caught up on having Saturdays and Sundays as my “rest day” and then if I would skip a Tuesday workout I felt like my whole week was ruined. Then I would get down and try to “get back on track” the next week and the same thing would happen. This is so not healthy and it took me a really long time to give that up and just do it when I can. It takes the pressure off and helps you look forward to working out. I’m glad I could help you! Let me know if you have any other questions 🙂

  18. I tried to see if someone had asked about cost of groceries – can you give an estimate of what you spend in groceries weekly or monthly? I’m sure theres some extra stuff I’d have to buy the first week. I’ve noticed some diet plans give a lot of variety, but that means buying 100 different things every week. I want to make sure the grocery list wouldn’t make it too difficult on my wallet to follow the diet.

    Your post has been extremely helpful though, thank you!

    • When I first started, I spent a little bit more because I didn’t have a lot of the spices or other ingredients. So I spent about $60 every week. But once I got started, I was only buying fresh veggies. So maybe about $80 every 2 weeks? It really all depends if what you like. I found cheap ways to go about it. Stocking up on veggies and fruits at the farmers market compared to super markets. Buying frozen chicken compared to fresh. I stocked up on Quinoa when it was on sale or at a cheaper place compared to whole foods. Walmart has quinoa pretty cheap.

      The recipes aren’t too difficult, I just didn’t have a lot of the stuff they talked about because I didn’t eat those types of foods. But once you start getting stuff, you won’t be going to the grocery store as much.

  19. I have really been thinking about buying this plan. I’m so glad I read your blog. Did you still use their nutrition plan? and are you still seeing results? Also, I’m allergic to bananas and I’ve heard that bananas are used in many of their recipes. Is this true? is there something I can substitute?

    • Yes, I still use their plan. It’s just so convenient for me and I never get bored eating the recipes. I am seeing results, as long as I’m faithful and not stuffing my face with take out foods haha!

      They do use a lot of bananas, but this is mainly in their pancakes, muffins, and smoothies. As for their regular meals, no. So the only thing you would want to substitute is different fruits in your smoothies and find a different way to eat pancakes. I personally don’t know what else to use for making their pancakes, but that’s just one meal. Everything else you would be able to eat.

Leave a Reply

