5 Fast & Healthy Meals – Dinner

Times are changing. A lot of families barely have time to sit down at a table and eat together, let alone eat healthy. That’s a shame, because growing up my Mother always had amazing dinners ready for us in the evening and we would always sit together at the table and eat. We weren’t allowed getting up from the table until our plates were clean.

Or, maybe you don’t have a family and you’re a single girl who is constantly on the go and you don’t always have the time to make a dinner for yourself. I make dinner almost every single night for myself and on nights when I don’t have time, I’ve found some recipes that takes 20 minutes or less. I think everyone can spare that. It’s a lot better than constantly grabbing fast food, plus it will save you money. Now who doesn’t enjoy that?

spinach-and-feta-turkey-burgers

#1 Turkey Burgers. I am always going to the grocery store and buying lean ground turkey meat – it’s so much better and healthier for you than beef. Upside? You can’t tell the difference in taste. Add your favorite ingredients – lettuce, tomatoes, onions, pickles.. whatever you like! My favorite items to add are red sauteed onions, bleu cheese crumbles, fat free BBQ sauce, and then toast a whole wheat bun in the oven and you’re done. It’s important to get your veggies in, so add some peas, carrots, asparagus, any vegetable that you like will go good with a turkey burger.

Optional: If you’re a vegetarian or vegan, no worries.. instead of turkey burgers try the Morning Star veggie burgers. They taste great! The only thing is the texture is a little different, other than that they’re incredible and have more protein than regular beef.

6a00e54ffb9cda8833010535c2c3d5970c-800wi

#2 Stuffed Peppers. This meal is fabulous in so many ways. Mainly because you’re getting your vegetables and protein all in one without having to make a side dish. Plus, peppers are low in calories. My favorite ingredients to add in my stuffed peppers are quinoa or lean ground turkey meat. I also add a ton of awesome seasonings for even more flavor. Add in your favorite sauce with some cheese and you’re done! I like to add a little olive oil to my peppers and sautee them in a pay to warm and tenderize them. Bake them in the oven and you’re finished!

penne_pasta_with_spinach_and_tomatoes

#3 Penne Pasta with Spinach. I’m Italian, so I can never get enough of pastas! Yes, pasta is a little bit on the bad side when you’re trying to diet.. but you need to remember it’s okay to treat yourself once in a while. Instead of regular pasta, get whole wheat! You can’t taste the difference if you add the right flavors. This meal is amazing and super healthy for you. I sautee my spinach in a pan with some olive oil while my pasta is cooking. Then add it all together with your favorite sauce.Β  Add some shredded cheese on top for a creamier taste. (Just don’t go overboard..) This meal takes about 20 minutes to make this meal and you can feed your whole family this.

Optional: Instead of using a sauce from a jar, chop up some tomatoes and throw them into the pan with your spinach. Much healthier!Β 

Also, check under my Recipes tab for my own recipe and directions on how I made this dinner.

chili-feature-460x231

#4 Skinny Girl Chili. This is the perfect fast, healthy, and great comfort food. You can add quinoa, ground turkey meat, or nothing but beans and veggies. So many options for a chili to suit everyone’s needs.

Check out my chili recipe (vegetarian friendly option) under my Recipes tab.

photo14

#5 Spinach Mozzarella Quinoa. See, I like making a grocery list and then mixing and matching different ingredients to create a new recipe. When you buy spinach, you only use a little and if you don’t use it within a week, it can go back. So why not add it to more foods? I cooked some quinoa, added broth, mozzarella, and then added some spinach to create a super healthy dinner! It takes less than 20 minutes and fills you up all night long. Perfect recipe for everyone!

Check out how I made this recipe under the Recipes tab.

Dinner Grocery List

  1. Asparagus
  2. Lean Ground Turkey Meat
  3. Spinach
  4. Feta Cheese
  5. Tomato
  6. Whole Wheat Hamburger & Hotdog Buns
  7. Quinoa
  8. Red or Yellow Bell Peppers
  9. Onion
  10. Whole Wheat Pasta (your favorite kind of pasta noodles..)
  11. Italian Sauces
  12. Salmon
  13. Shrimp
  14. Rice (preferably brown)
  15. Chicken Breast
  16. Progresso Soup
  17. Sweet Potatoes
  18. Your Favorite Vegetables (fresh or canned)
  19. Black Beans or Kidney Beans
  20. Romaine Lettuce

Do you have any healthy dinners you want to share? Comment on this post and let me know!

xo Brittny

Check out my Fast & Healthy Breakfast meals
Check out my Fast & Healthy Lunch meals

Leave a Reply

