5 Fast & Healthy Meals – Lunch

As I have said in my Breakfast post, people don’t always know what to pack for their lunches, let alone a healthy lunch. So here are my favorite 5 healthy meals that I usually pack for my lunches!

Chicken_Fettucini2.ashxMy #1 lunch that I always pack are the Smart ones meals by Weight Watchers. They’re on average about 300 calories and costs you about $2.

Store these babies in the freezer, wake up in the morning, pack it in your bag, and you’re done! And the good news about these meals is that there are soooo many options and choices that you won’t ever get sick of eating them. I love the pasta selections – they’re truly incredible and they taste amazing. One down side is that a lot of people might not be filled with eating these. That’s why it is important to snack in between your main meals. This will hold you over until it’s snack time!

photo(15)

#2 – Wraps. I love anything wrapped up in a tortilla. The night before work, chop up some chicken or buy the Tyson Fajita Chicken Strips, fry them up with your favorite seasonings along with some sauteed peppers & onions, place them in a Tupperware bowl, and keep them in the fridge until you’re ready to pack up your lunch in the morning.  That’s really all you need! I always add 1/2 cup of black beans into the wrap for more protein. Buy whole wheat wraps (only 80 calories) and you have a lunch that will fill you up.. plus they’re super yummy. You won’t need to add any dressings because the sauteed veggies give it all the flavor it needs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

#3 go to lunch – Progresso Soups. People really forget about packing soup as their lunch because they’re so fixated on having a lot of food to eat and forget that that’s not the healthy way. These soups not only taste great, but there are so many options to fit everyone’s personal health needs. Add a few saltine crackers in and you’re good to go! Store these in your desk on days where you forget your lunch. (I have a drawer full of them.)

strawberry-salad

#4 Favorite of all time.. salads! The beauty about salads is that you can mix and match so many different options so you never get bored of eating them. You can add chicken, ground beef/turkey, steak, black beans, onions, fruits, nuts, spinach, cheese, etc.. the list is endless! But the main thing you need to remember is not to load up on dressing! If you’re like me, I love soaking my salad in dressing – but I used fat free dressings or light. Try to avoid cheese as much as possible, once in a while will not hurt you. But people forget that cheese is fattening and that since they’re eating a salad, they can add whatever they want. Well no, this is so wrong. Go crazy with ingredients, but don’t add fattening foods or this defeats the whole purpose of a salad.

chicken-stir-fry-021

#5 Chicken Stir Fry – or any stir fry. The wonderful thing about stir fry is that you can add anything your heart desires. Rice, veggies, chicken, steak, beans, etc.. just like a salad, you need to watch what you’re adding though. This is a great meal to get in your oils as well. Yes, you need to add oil into your diet. People hear the word Olive Oil and run for the hills. They’re forgetting that olive oil is an essential part of a diet as well. These are good and natural oils that your body can break down easily. Anytime a recipe calls for butter, replace it with olive oil.. it will make a difference in your life. The night before work, make up your favorite stir fry dish, place it in a tupperware container, and then pack it in your lunch in the morning. Simple and healthy. Stir fry is also a really fast meal. Generally this takes about 10 minutes total.. depends on what you add into it.

Lunch Grocery List

  1. Black Beans
  2. Weight Watchers Smart Ones
  3. Progresso Soup
  4. Quinoa
  5. Peppers
  6. Your Favorite Vegetables (try to avoid corn and potatoes)
  7. Fajita Chicken Strips
  8. Fajita Steak Tips
  9. Romaine Lettuce
  10. Fat Free House Dressing (or your favorite fat free dressing)
  11. Whole Wheat Tortilla Wraps
  12. Your Favorite Fruits
  13. Walnuts & Pecans
  14. Feta Cheese
  15. Spinach
  16. Lean Pork Chops (pairs nicely with a side of veggies)
  17. Lean Ground Turkey Meat
  18. Turkey Deli Meat (make a nice simple sandwich for lunch.. avoid mayo!)
  19. Whole Wheat Bread
  20. Sweet Potato Fries (on days where you need a little comfort food)

Have any awesome recipes that you want to share? Comment on this post!

xo Brittny

Check out my 5 Fast & Healthy Breakfast Meals

Check out my 5 Fast & Healthy Dinner Meals

3 thoughts on “5 Fast & Healthy Meals – Lunch

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts
    as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My website is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a lot!

  2. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone
    during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent site!

Leave a Reply

