Christmas Spirit!

Happy Humpday!

I hope everyone is having a great week so far.. I know I am! This week has been full of Christmas spirit and is getting me more excited for Christmas this year. As I’ve said in my last post, my family had a Christmas play at their church on Monday.

photo(13)

I love dressing up and going to plays.

photo(12)

The story line was super cute. They had an elderly lady talk about being so busy around Christmas and never having enough time to really enjoy the small things like reading Christmas cards from her loved ones. So every time she pulled up a card, it reminded her of something either she’s done or the real story behind Christmas.

photo(11)

Then on the stage, they had a giant card and had a different scene for each card the lady read. It was super cute and neat, I never saw a play where they did this before. It was also pretty awesome having a seat in the second row.

After the play was over, I came home and just spent some much needed time with the family. I’ve been watching so many Christmas movies lately and I LOVE IT. And no worries, I’ve been keeping up with my workouts. I almost have my Hip  Hop Abs month 1 completed. I love the results I’ve got so far and can’t wait to post my full review on it! Time flies by when you’re having fun.

Tuesday I found a really easy and healthy recipe to try out on Pinterest. So after work I stopped at the grocery store and picked up some stuff. i made a Pasta Chicken Spinach meal. Yum!

photo(9)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of tomato sauce
  • Fajita chicken strips
  • 1 box of whole wheat penne
  • Spinach
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Granulated garlic
  • Pepperjack Cheese

 

 

photo(7)

Simply add your water into a pot, add lots of salt, and bring it to a boil. Once the water starts boiling, add in your box of penne with some more salt. Cook this for about 10 minutes.

photo(8)

While your pasta is cooking, in a separate pan heat up some olive oil. When the oil heats up, add in your chicken. Let this cook until your chicken is cooked through. I already used cooked chicken and just heated it up. Once your chicken is ready, add in your spinach leaves. Use as much as you’d like, as it wilts down. Add some salt & pepper to taste.

photo(6)

After your chicken and spinach is nice and done, drain your pasta in a strainer. Do not rinse. Then add your pasta back into the pot and also add in your chicken and spinach. Use 2 cups of tomato sauce or as much as you’d like, heat this up for about 3 minutes. Sprinkle in your granulated garlic.. depending on how much you like. All done!

photo(5)

Now, if you’re like me, you like a little spice. So I added about a handful of shredded pepperjack cheese to the pasta for more flavor. You don’t have to, but it definitely brings more taste.

Today at work was our Christmas party. So last night I made some buffalo chicken dip. I made it a little differently than how I normally make it. This time I used:

  • 1/2 cup of buffalo sauce
  • 1 cup of ranch
  • 1 cup of pepperjack cheese
  • 1 can of drained chicken
  • 1 softened package of cream cheese

Everyone loved it. It was gone before 10:00 this morning. Now I know to make a bigger crock pot for next year or for the next party, as I am always elected to make this for our parties.

photo(2)

Unfortunately, I couldn’t take a picture of the whole pot because it was gone. But I did manage to get a small plate full!

photo

There were so many crock pots of awesome food.. but, i managed to fight back the urge to go crazy and stuff my face. Shakeology really does help out with cravings. Thankfully I drank a peanut butter cup shake this morning! I did eat a little bit of everything, I just didn’t overdue it because I don’t want to ruin the hard work I’ve been doing for my workout group challenge.

photo(3)

Christmas parties means Christmas gifts! My one manager got me a box of candy, a Christmas decoration, and this awesome Elvis mug filled with hot chocolate mix!

photo(1)

If anyone knows me, they know my two loves are Elvis and Marilyn Monroe. I was so happy with my gifts. My other manager got me a really pretty decorative sign that I can hang in my office.

Tomorrow I’ll be finally finishing up my Christmas shopping. I just love giving out gifts this time of year. Me and some friends will also be going out for dinner. This weekend will be packed full of events as well, so I’ll be posting about that more than likely on Sunday or Monday. So stay tuned!

xo Brittny

Leave a Reply

