Spinach Mozzarella Quinoa

Friday.. thank goodness you have finally arrived!

I honestly don’t know if I would survive one more hour of work. Good news is I finally finished my two huge projects, which means I can finally relax and not stress so much.

So I came home from work last night and saw a box sitting in front of my door. Packages always make me excited!

photo(18)

A package from BeachBody πŸ™‚ I ordered some Shakeology shaker cups. I’m keeping some for myself and then giving out free cups to those who order Shakeology from me πŸ™‚

photo(19)

I got up extra early this morning so I could try out this new Shakeology recipe I stumbled upon. And I’m so glad that I did!

photo(17)

I just found my new favorite shakeo. Simply add in 1/2 banana, 1 cup of milk, ice to taste, 1 scoop of chocolate shakeology, and 1 tbsp of all natural peanut butter. It is simply to die for! It filled me up and gave me energy all day. Came home from work and did my workout. I’m on day 5 of the hip hop abs schedule and I can already feel the difference. I can’t wait to see my results after my 30 days!

Now, onto the recipe I tried out last night for dinner. I found this recipe on Pinterest and then went straight from work to the grocery store and picked up the ingredients I needed in order to make this dinner. It was soooo good! Very healthy, especially if you use organic products like I did for some of the items. Good news is I had leftovers which I got to take to work today. So here is the recipe, enjoy!

P.S., let me know if you try this and what you thought!

Spinach Mozzarella Quinoa

photo(8)

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Large White Onion
  • 1 Cup of Quinoa (or brown rice)
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 2 Cups of Chicken Stock
  • 2 Handfuls of Baby Spinach Leaves
  • 1 Cup of Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic

photo(9)

First, heat up about 1 tbsp of olive oil into a pan. While the oil is heating up, start chopping up your onion finely. Once your oil is hot, place the onion into the pan and add some salt and pepper. Let this caramelize stirring frequently for about 5 minutes.

photo(10)

While your onion is cooking, start chopping up your 3 cloves of garlic very fine. Add this to the pan and cook for 1 minutes only (you do not want your garlic to burn.)

photo(11)

Then add your 1 cup of quinoa (or brown rice) into the pan and stir in. Let this cook for about 3 minutes.

photo(12)

Bring to a boil your 2 cups of chicken stock.

photo(16)

Once it starts boiling, turn the heat down low and let this simmer uncovered for about 15-17 minutes. Or, until it’s cooked the way you like your quinoa.

photo(15)

While your quinoa is cooking, take your 2 handfuls of baby spinach leaves and stick them into a pot with a little bit of olive oil for extra flavor. Place a lid on the pot and let the leaves wilt.. this can take anywhere from 2 minutes to 5 minutes.

photo(14)

Once everything is finally cooked, throw in your spinach leaves and 1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese and stir. All done! Serve immediately and enjoy πŸ™‚

photo(13)

I will definitely be making this recipe more often. It takes about 30 minutes to make the meal – but it is soooo worth it! Seriously. You need to try this. I am becoming such a quinoa fanatic! Also, if anyone has anymore great quinoa recipes, please let me know! πŸ™‚

xo Brittny

Leave a Reply

