Hip Hop Humpday

Happy Hump Day!

I’m so happy that the week is halfway over with. I am ready for this weekend! My best friend is finally coming home from her vacation to San Diego and it’s been crazy not seeing her for two weeks. So Saturday evening needs to get here ASAP! Have you ever woke up and just knew that the day was going to be a good day? I had that feeling whenever I was driving to work, drinking my mocha flavored Shakeology (will enter recipe below) and the Beach Boys song “Cocomo” came on. That was one of my favorite songs ever growing up.

So what is a mocha flavored Shakeology shake?

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of cold coffee
  • 1 cup of milk (this can be any milk – soy, 2%, fat free, chocolate, etc..)
  • 1 scoop of chocolate Shakeology (or the chocolate Vegan Shakeology)
  • Small handful of ice

Directions:

Simply mix your milk, coffee, and shakeo in a cup until everything is blended. Then, add your ice cubes and you’re done! It tastes just like an iced coffee but much tastier and healthier. This is my go-to shake in the morning when I’m not feeling energized (especially for work).

After another stressful day at the office, I came home and saw a BeachBody package with my name on it and instantly became excited.

During the Black Friday sale, I ordered Hip Hop Abs at a ridiculously low price. I simply couldn’t pass that deal up. This program is a month long – so I’m starting that this upcoming Monday to finish out my Hot for the Holidays challenge.

I’ll be taking before/after pictures and posting results. I have heard so many good things about the program. This workout also includes some pretty awesome gifts. It includes:

  • Tape measure
  • Log in sheet (to keep track of your weight and measurements)
  • A small book on which foods to eat when you stop at a fast food restaurant and which foods to avoid
  • Step by step nutrition guide
  • 6 day slim down plan
  • Get started guide book

I can’t believe everyone didn’t jump on this deal. Two of my best friends ordered the program with me and received their package today as well. We are all starting the workout on Monday and it’s just a great feeling knowing that I have my two close friends to do it with and we can all help motivate each other.

After I did laundry and all that non-fun stuff, I made dinner. I decided to make a Skinny Chili meal. Vegetarian friendly – just remove the turkey!

First, I started out with a small frying pan and drizzled some olive oil into the pan and got that nice and hot. Meanwhile, I chopped up 1 whole onion, 1 celery stick, and a green pepper. Added some kosher salt and cooked this until the veggies were translucent.

Then, in a large pot, I added 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of black beans. So healthy for you and full of protein! I also added 1 cup of water and left this cook for about 2-3 minutes.

To really make this a hearty soup, I added 1 can of tomato juice and left this get nice and hot before adding in the other ingredients. While you’re letting this get hot, you will want to take your meat and start browning it in a pan.

The meat I chose was the Perdue Lean Ground Turkey meat. It’s less fat and more healthier for you. Plus you can’t taste the difference from regular beef – at least in my opinion.

Back to the pot, I added some chili seasoning. Also, I added some salt, pepper, and chili powder to give it more of a kick. I then added in the meat and veggies and left this all cook for about 20 minutes. I turned the heat down low, stuck a lid on, and left this simmer. Now I get leftovers for lunch tomorrow. That’s my favorite part about cooking dinners.

Add a few crackers and you’re all done! Simple and pretty fast if you ask me. The hardest about this is making the 20 minutes to actually eat it. Chili is in my top 5 favorite meals. I curled up in bed and watched Once Upon a Time since I missed it Sunday. It’s seriously one of the best shows I’ve ever watched.. if you haven’t watched it, jump on Netflix now and catch up! Season 1 is posted on there.

Anyways, after my stomach settled and I wasn’t so full, I did my workout. Tonight I did Yoga Booty Ballet – Latin Flavor. I felt it was appropriate since I had a spicy meal. Then I felt even more energized and did RevAbs Fat Burning Abs. I couldn’t get off the floor when I was finished with these.. but it feels so good to sweat all of that stress out of your body.

Gotta love when you’re all sweaty! It makes you feel like you’re actually making progress. Like I’ve said before, each workout is a step closer to your goal! It’s important to also drink lots of water – especially ice water. Your body actually burns calories trying to get the ice water to body temperature. Just a little tip I’ve learned πŸ™‚

To reward myself after a long day, I am now turning on my xbox and relaxing for rest of the night before going to sleep. It’s important to reward yourself for working hard!

Goodnight!

xo Brittny

P.S., yes I am wearing a Spiderman shirt while working out. No big deal πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

